Most Shared

EARLY VOTING

EARLY VOTING

Health Check

Health Check

 
text size

States Vote on Restricting Teen Tanning

Updated: Thursday, March 20 2014, 12:43 PM EDT

The state senate of Kansas and Missouri will vote on bills putting restrictions on teen use of tanning beds. In Missouri anyone under 17 would need parental permission to use a tanning bed. In Kansas the bill would ban minors from indoor tanning altogether.

In Maryland, an owner, employee, or operator of a tanning facility may not allow a minor under the age of 18 years to use a tanning device unless the minor's parent or legal guardian provides written consent on the premises of the tanning facility and in the presence of an owner, employee, or operator of the tanning facility.

According to the American Academy of Dermatology - 28 million people use tanning beds each year, more than two million are teens.

If the law passes, violators in Kansas would have to pay a $250 fee – in Missouri the fine would be $500.

Currently California, Illinois, Nevada, Texas and Vermont ban the use of tanning beds for all minors under 18, and at least 33 states and the District of Columbia regulate the use of tanning facilities by minors. Some counties and cities also regulate the use of tanning devices, including Howard County, Maryland, which was the first local jurisdiction to ban indoor tanning for all minors under age 18.

Source: ncsl.org

States Vote on Restricting Teen Tanning


Advertise with us!
 
Advertise with us!
eblast
[an error occurred while processing this directive]