Most Shared

Weather Alert


A CODE ORANGE AIR QUALITY ALERT has been issued for the entire area, except the Eastern Shore, for Tuesday.  The very young, elderly, and those with pre-existing respiratory issues should spend more time indoors due to elevated levels of air pollution.


Weather Alert Radar



text size

BREAKING NEWS: The Winner of the 138th Annual Preakness Is Oxbow

Updated: Monday, May 20 2013, 10:33 AM EDT

The winner of the 138th Preakness is Oxbow, fan favorite Orb came in 4th place.

Preakness was Oxbow's 11th career start, and the sixth start this year.

Oxbow was ridden by jockey Gary Stevens, and owned by Calumet Farm. Stevens is a 50-year-old grandfather who ended his retirement in January to ride in his 17th Preakness, and is the oldest jockey ever to win the Preakness. Calumet Farm is owned by Brad Kelley, a Tennessee native.

Oxbow's trainer is Hall-of-Famer, D. Wayne Lukas. No trainer has started more horses in Preakness since 1909 than Lukas. This years Preakness was Lukas' sixth Preakness victory, and his 15th Triple Crown victory -- which is the most in horse racing history.

"I get paid to spoil dreams," Lukas said in an interview with NBC moments after the victory.

In the Preakness, Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens took control at the outset and never relinquished the advantage.

Oxbow covered the 1 3/16th miles in 1:57.54. He went off as a 15-1 underdog and paid $32.80, $12 and $8.80.

The AP contributed to this article.

BREAKING NEWS: The Winner of the 138th Annual Preakness Is Oxbow

Advertise with us!

Related Stories

[an error occurred while processing this directive]


  • Belmont Stakes

    The Belmont Stakes is the third and final leg of the triple crown of horse racing.
  • Preakness

    Held on the third Saturday in May at the Pimlico Race Course in Maryland.
  • Kentucky Derby

    Orb was the winning horse in the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on May 4, 2013.

#preakness Twitter

Advertise with us!