Most Shared

Weather Alert

A Quiet Friday, Weekend Warm-Up

Expect partial sun, low humidity, and pleasant 70s for get-away Friday.  Saturday and Sunday stay dry with more 70s.  It'll turn more humid on Memorial Day with an afternoon shower or thunderstorm and a move back up to the mid 80s.


Weather Alert Radar



text size

The Winner of the 139th Annual Preakness is California Chrome

Updated: Tuesday, May 20 2014, 01:08 PM EDT

The winner of the 139th Preakness is California Chrome, the fan favorite and winner of the Kentucky Derby. He covered the 1 3-16th mile course in 1:54.84.

California Chrome took a five-race winning streak into the 139th Preakness, all with jockey Victor Espinoza. His trainer is 77-year-old Art Sherman. It is the first Preakness victory for Sherman.

Ride on Curlin and Social Inclusion were the second and third place respectively.

AP contributed to this report

The Winner of the 139th Annual Preakness is California Chrome

Advertise with us!

Related Stories

[an error occurred while processing this directive]


  • Belmont Stakes

    The Belmont Stakes is the third and final leg of the triple crown of horse racing.
  • Preakness

    Held on the third Saturday in May at the Pimlico Race Course in Maryland.
  • Kentucky Derby

    Orb was the winning horse in the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on May 4, 2013.

#preakness Twitter

Advertise with us!