Most Shared

text size

Fireworks Laws & Fireworks Shows in the State of Maryland

Updated: Friday, July 4 2014, 09:46 AM EDT

Ahead of the Fourth of July holiday, Maryland residents are reminded that only gold labeled sparklers, novelty items (i.e. party poppers, snap pops, snakes), & ground based sparkler devices are permitted for use in the state, except for certain counties where all fireworks are illegal.

All fireworks are illegal in Baltimore City, Montgomery and Prince George's counties. Ground-based sparkler devices are prohibited to purchase or use in Baltimore City, Montgomery County, Prince George's County, Harford County, Howard County and the Town of Ocean City. Any law enforcement officer may issue a criminal citation and confiscate fireworks for violations.

Examples of items that are prohibited by State law are: Firecrackers, Cherry Bombs, Black Cats, M-80's, Crackling Ball's, and Smoke Bombs, Roman Candles, and Bottle Rockets (whistling and/or with report), Sky Rockets, Helicopter-type Rockets, Spinning Wheels, Moving Tanks or Other Vehicles, and any firework that is shot from a mortar tube.

The Maryland State Police has a list of all approved Public Firework displays: CLICK HERE for that list.

For more information contact the Maryland State Fire Marshal's Office at 1-800-525-3124.

Fireworks Laws & Fireworks Shows in the State of Maryland

Advertise with us!

Related Stories

Top Stories

  [ - ] Video Stories Only  [ - ] Text Stories Only  [ + ] Show All
Advertise with us!