Baltimore County police chief to retire

    Baltimore County police chief to retire

    TOWSON, Md. (WBFF) - While Baltimore City is set to get a new police chief, Baltimore County is also announcing a nationwide search for a new head of Baltimore County police, announced County Executive Johnny "O" Olszewski Jr.

    Chief Terry Sheridan, who has served as police chief on and off (most recently since January 2017), plans to retire in six months, according to a county press release Wednesday.

    “Chief Sheridan is a first-class public safety professional who is well-respected by his officers and the community,” said Olszewski in the press release. “We are very grateful for his service and that he has agreed to continue in his role as we take the time to select someone to replace him who will maintain the same high standards of service to our constituents and will achieve the consistently positive results we have come to expect in Baltimore County."

    Sheridan will stay on the job until the national search is over.

    He has served 13 years total as county police chief, including leading the department from 1996 to 2007. He also served in the Maryland State Police for 30 years.

    The announcement of a new police-chief search comes as Olszewski continues to announce his administration transition.

    He has picked ten people for department and office heads:

    Laura D. Riley, Director, Department of Aging (currently serves as Deputy Director)

    Keith A. Dorsey, Director, Office of Budget and Finance

    Gail M. Watts, Director, Department of Corrections

    Michael E. Field, County Attorney

    William G. Anderson, Director, Department of Economic and Workforce Development

    Gregory Wm. Branch, M.D., Director, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Social Services and Health Officer

    Robert W. O'Connor, Director, Office of Information Technology

    Terrence B. Sheridan, Chief, Police Department

    Steven A. Walsh, PE, Director, Department of Public Works

    Barry F. Williams, Director, Department of Recreation and Parks

    The County Council must vote in favor of the nominations.

    Olszewski also nominated David Lykens to serve as Acting Director of the Department of Environmental Protection and Sustainability and Dori Henry to lead the Office of Communications.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...